This is your brain in a dark box

On the subject of entoptic phenomena and altered states of consciousness, I thought I might share with you an interesting experience I had. There’s a business in Chesapeake that provides sensory deprivation tanks where, basically, you float in a warm bath in the dark. There’s a lot of mystery and mystique surrounding what happens in a floatation tank. I’d always wanted to try it. One day it popped up in my inbox through Groupon and I decided it to go for it.

I wrote about my experience for Savage Minds. You can read about here, My Journey Through Innerspace.

About Matt Thompson

Matt Thompson is a project cataloger at The Mariners' Museum library. He has a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and was formerly a professor at ODU. You can find him on Twitter @m4ttTh0mps0n.
This entry was posted in Altered States. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

