B-Boy Bungaku

Here’s some beats for ya’ll to check out, maybe play them in the background while you read Ian Condry’s essay on Japanese hiphop. B-Boy Bungaku is a mixtape in mp3 form and best of all its totally free. It’s a little bit slow to get started but around 15-20 minutes in it gets real hot. I’ve been enjoying it for a week now and love that ’90s sound. And no, I don’t know what the MC’s are saying. The link comes from Names You Can Trust Radio, which I’m guessing did a tribute to Japan following the recent earthquake/ tsunami/ unfolding nuclear disaster.

Me personally, my tastes tend more towards turntabilism than vocals. My sophomore year DJ Krush dropped Meiso, a collection of downtempo and triphop that made for a great chillout album. That particular disk is no longer in my possession (otherwise I’d share it with you), but I do still rock the double album Cold Krush Cuts which features DJ Krush remixing the Ninja Tunes catalog. Still one of my favorite triphop albums and a go-to set for when I need music on while I’m getting work done.

About Matt Thompson

Matt Thompson is a project cataloger at The Mariners' Museum library. He has a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and was formerly a professor at ODU. You can find him on Twitter @m4ttTh0mps0n.
This entry was posted in Globalization, Japan, Music. Bookmark the permalink.